Summer Colour

What a treat the month of May is – two bank holidays, the promise of Summer, blossom on the trees, sunshine, and for me, my annual holiday – this year, a long weekend to Paris.

This Monday sees the first of the duo of bonus day’s off, bank holiday Monday. I am attending our local Village Day in West Wickham.ย The event is being held in Blake Park Rec, from 10am to 3pm.ย In only it’s second year, the day promises to be a great day out for everyone. There’s the a dog show, bouncy castles (that’s right, more than one bouncy castle!), face painting, Kayla the Crystal Palace eagle mascot, a tasty bbq, a fully licensed bar… and lots of craft stalls too. That’s where I come in!

I am really looking forward to being there with a collaboration between my two enterprises, Beck’s Creative and Beck’s Flowers. We’ll have a great selection of our handmade cards for all occasions, and a variety of beautiful sewn goods and gifts too, from our large folding shopper bags, to pretty Liberty print applique tea towels.

Fuchsias and Pinks
Fuchsias and Pinks

Yesterday I was up early at the wholesaler to pick out lots of lovely plants to sell – we’ve got bright pink and red Geraniums, gorgeous purple Ranunculus, delicate pink and lilac Fuchsias, and pretty Pinks – all perfect to kick start your Summer borders, window boxed, and hanging baskets!

Sumptuous Succulents
Sumptuous Succulents

I also couldn’t resist the pure simple beauty of these

Echeverias (also know as succulents for anyone without a Latin degree!). So beautiful, easy peasy to look after (you can ignore them and they’ll thrive), and bang on trend too. It would be rude not to, right?

And if you needed anymore persuading to come along to the Village day, we’ll be joined in the Craft Village by Howards of Kent (delicious flavoured vodka), Sweets and Treats (their name says it all), and Tots Rock (musical stories and adventure for babies and pre-schoolers), along with a whole host of other stalls.

Or, if you’re not local to us, then why not look out for a craft fair local to you? You never know what handmade and unique gems you may stumble across!

5 thoughts on “Summer Colour

  1. Hey Becky! I stumbled upon your blog looking for other florists on WordPress. I checked out your website and I am in love! Can’t wait to read more on your blog. Do you know what you’ll be sharing on here?

    Like

    • Hello Candance, thank you for your kind words! I do love my job ๐Ÿ™‚ I have great plans to write about my up-coming weddings and events, trying out new tetechniques and perfecting current ones, a look at different flower varieties, inspiration… all sorts really! It’s just a case of finding the time… Is there anything you’d like to see here?

      Like

      • I can definitely relate to that! It is hard to find the time to write. As far as what I would like to see on your blog, I would love to see your techniques. I know that what I think is commonplace isn’t so common for someone else so I’m sure you have tricks I’ve never seen. I really love your bridal work, it’s beautiful! I haven’t had much experience with brides, just a wedding here and there over the last few years. Do you have any pointers for someone like me, who is just starting out, concerning marketing to brides and delving into wedding design? Thank you in advance. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

      • Thanks Candance, a few step by steps, and some technique spotlights are now on the list! The world of wedding floristry is a challenging one – there is so much competition, especially from ‘DIY-ers’. My advise would be to decide the ‘type’of bride you want to work with, and design with them in mind – if someone else comes along and books you, no problem, you can be flexible. Don’t compromise your design integrity! If the client is not willing to pay what you know you’re worth, they are not the client for you. I advertise in various bridal shops, wedding fairs, venues… anywhere that suits my style! Plus of course all the social media. And most of all, have fun ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 2 people

      • Thank you so much for your response! You’re very encouraging and helpful. I really appreciate your time and I will heed your advice. ๐Ÿ™‚ Looking forward to your posts!

        Like

Leave a Reply

